Ronaldo’s contentious penalty against Ghana is discussed by FIFA

Posted by

Cristiano Ronaldo’s “genius” in winning the penalty for Portugal in their 3-2 victory over Ghana at the 2022 World Cup was praised by FIFA’s top World Cup analysts.

On Thursday, Cristiano Ronaldo became the first male footballer to score in five World Cups.

The 37-year-old scored a contentious penalty after the referee determined that Mohammed Salisu of Ghana had fouled him.

After the game, Ghana’s coach, Otto Addo, said it was a “special gift” for Portugal.

The Technical Study Group (TSG) of FIFA stated during a media briefing held in Doha that a record number of penalties will be awarded during this year’s World Cup.

“Perhaps strikers are becoming more intelligent?

Faryd Mondragon, a former goalkeeper for Colombia and current member of the TSG panel, said, “If you look at the penalty that Ronaldo got, people can say what they want about this man, but the smartness and the ingenious thought to just be patient and wait for that split second to touch the ball first before you, and continue my leg so that your contact will hit my leg, that is total genius.”

In the first 16 games, nine penalties have been assessed in total.

In the 64-game tournament, the World Cup is on pace to set a record with 36 victories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *