NEMA warns 31 communities and 14 states

Posted by

The National Emergency Management Agency, or NEMA, has issued a warning that from July 4 to July 8, heavy rains across the nation’s 14 states and 31 municipalities could cause floods.

The warning was contained in a statement released on Wednesday by Mr. Ibrahim Farinloye, Coordinator, NEMA, Lagos Territorial Office.

Farinloye advised the necessary parties to exercise prudence in the impacted states in order to prevent the loss of life and property.

Plateau: Langtang and Shendam; Kano State: Sumaila, Tudun Wada; Sokoto State: Shagari, Goronyo, and Silame; Delta: Okwe. These are the states and localities he listed.

Others are Kachia in Kaduna State, Upenekang in Akwa Ibom, Mubi, Demsa, Song, Mayo-Belwa, Jimeta, and Yola in Adamawa, and Katsina, Jibia, Kaita, and Bindawa in Katsina State.

He also included Wara, Yelwa, and Gwandu for Kebbi State, and Shinkafi and Gummi for Zamfara.

The following are also included: Borno: Briyel; Jigawa: Gwaram; Kwara: Jebba; Niger: Mashegu and Kontagora.

Farinloye, meantime, expressed gratitude to the Federal Ministry of Environment, Abuja, for sharing the information through the FEWS Central Hub


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *