List of commissioner candidates released by the Ekiti Assembly

Posted by

The list of candidates for the position of commissioners submitted by Governor Biodun Oyebanji for consideration and confirmation has been made public by Speaker of the Ekiti State House of Assembly Adeoye Aribasoye.

The screening will start on Monday, July 3, when nominees are anticipated to start appearing before legislators, according to the speaker, who made this announcement during the House’s plenary on Tuesday, the first since the Seventh Assembly was sworn in on June 6.

Reading the June 26 email from the governor, Aribasoye instructed the assembly clerk to inform each nominee that the House needs 30 copies of their curriculum vitae by Friday, June 30, in order for the screening to begin on July 3rd.

According to Aribasoye, the commissioners-designate would be chosen based on their senatorial districts, with the nominees from Ekiti North being chosen first, then Ekiti South, and finally Ekiti Central.

Not more than three nominees would be questioned each day, the speaker said, adding that the legislators intended to do a thorough job.

Ado, Efon, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ido/Osi, and Ayekire local government areas each have two commissioner nominations on the list that the speaker has read, while nine other council areas each have one.

On the list are the following candidates: Taiwo Olatunbosun, Mr. Adebayo Ajisola, Prof. Ojo Bakare (Ekiti West), Mrs. Tosin and Mrs. Tayo Adeola (Ado), Mrs. Karonwi Oladapo, and Mr. and Mrs. Peju Babafemi (Efon), Ms. Ojo Atibioke, and Mrs.

Others are Chief Folorunso Olabode (Ilejemeje), Dr. Kofoworola Aderiye and Mr. Oyeniyi Adebayo (Ido/Osi), Adebayo Adesola and Dr. Kareem Akande (Moba), and Mr. Seun Fakuade (Oye).

Prof. Patrick Tedela from Ekiti Southwest, Kehinde Ajobiewe from Ekiti East, Olufemi Awe and Prof. Bolaji Aluko from Ayekire, Ebenezer Boluwade from Emure, Kayode Fasae from Ise/Orun, and Otunba Dolamu Adeniyi from Ikere are also on the list.

The speaker further clarified that the screening of the commissioners would take place concurrently with the approval of 10 special advisers.

The governor said that by sending the list, he intended to extend the State Executive Council and select commissioners to help provide services to the residents of Ekiti State.

Ikole Local Government Area already has two serving commissioners, Dr. Oyebanji Filani for health and human services and Akintunde Oyebode for finance and economic development, according to 460play, while Dayo Apata, the attorney general and commissioner for justice, already represents Oye Local Government Area.

On October 16 of last year, just after Governor Oyebanji took office, the three and nine other special advisers were sworn in.

In addition, the speaker announced the formation of three significant committees, pending the formation of further standing House committees.

Rules and Business is one of the committees that has been established, with House Majority Leader Tolu Ige serving as chairman and Deputy Majority Leader Yomi Ayorinde serving as vice chairman.

Iyabo Fakunle-Okieimen, Ademola Ojo, and Femi Akindele are also on the committee, and Tola Esan, the assembly clerk, acts as secretary.

Babatunde Oke is the chairman and Lateef Akanle is the vice chairman of the House Committee on Media and Public Affairs. Idowu Odebunmi, Bosede Olowookere, and Femi Akindele are other members.

Ad hoc Committee on Legislative Agenda was also established to work with the State Executive Council to develop an executive-legislative agenda.

The committee, under the leadership of Ayodeji Adegbite, would likely work with the executive branch of government to develop the legislative agenda for the Seventh Assembly.

Abimbola Solanke, Babatunde Oke, Omotayo Babatunde, and Idowu Odebunmi are also on the committee, while Bankole Ogunmosunle is the secretary.

The Ekiti State Electric Power Sector Bill and the Ekiti State Sports Commission Bill both went through the first and second readings during the session.

Speaker Aribasoye submitted the Ekiti State Sports Commission Bill 2023 to the Committee on Youths and Sports, which would be formed soon, for review and a report to the House after extensive consideration.

The House then put off further business until July 3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *