Governor Mbah of Enugu formally inaugurates the state’s newly formed electoral commission

Posted by

Friday saw the inauguration of the newly formed Enugu State Independent Electoral Commission (ENSIEC) by Governor Peter Mbah.

At the occasion, which took place at Government House Enugu, Mbah praised the newly-confirmed board of directors for the electoral agency, noting that they were “very qualified” in both character and competence.

Additionally, he asserted that their inauguration followed the requirements of Section 4(1) of the ENSIEC Law, which charged them with conducting free, fair, and credible elections.

You are now responsible for overseeing the election process for the third and most important level of government, the local government councils, thanks to your nomination and subsequent confirmation. Our presidential form of government establishes many levels of government.

It is incumbent upon you to guarantee the integrity, transparency, and fairness of the processes and regulations pertaining to the election of members of the local government councils.

The citizens of Enugu State will be counting on you to be fair and impartial referees who enforce the rules without bias or prejudice. Consequently, we have faith in your abilities and expect you to excel in your new positions.

“We expect you to bring your experience to bear,” the governor said, adding that some of the reappointed officials were already active in the system.

On behalf of the newly elected ENSIEC leadership, Chairman Prof. Christian Ngwu conveyed deep appreciation to the governor for recognizing their qualifications to serve the people of Enugu State.

The chairman assured everyone that ENSIEC would be revitalized and that all political parties would be treated fairly.

We are going to revitalise, revitalize, and re-energize ENSIEC. All political parties will be able to compete on an equal footing.

His promise to the people of Enugu State was twofold: first, that we would leave ENSIEC in better shape than when we arrived, and second, that we would never let them down.

The new ENSIEC is headed by Ifesinachi Umeobika, and its members include Solomon Udeh, Chinenyenwa Ogbu, George Ani, Arthur Ede, Paully Eze, and Emeka Ukwuaba.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *